Starting with FooEvents POS plugin version 1.13.0, you have significantly more control over which users should have access to the POS as well as what features each user or role is allowed to make use of in the POS.
Quick Links
- Default Functionality
- User Roles with FooEvents POS Access
- Add a New User Role
- Enable PIN and Auto-Lock
- Manage POS Users
- POS User Role and Capabilities
- Connecting to the POS with PIN Lock Enabled
- Locking the POS
- Switch to a Different POS User
- POS Users and Submitting Orders
Default Functionality
When updating the plugin to version 1.13.x the Administrator, Shop Manager and Cashier (FooEvents POS) user roles will automatically receive access to the POS as well as all the features within the POS. FooEvents POS manages access to the various features in the POS by making use of WordPress user role capabilities. The default user role POS capabilities can be managed by modifying the user roles with FooEvents POS access.
Pro Tip: By default, access to FooEvents POS is restricted to users and roles with the “fooeventspos_pos_app” capability. If you would like other users or roles to have access to the POS but don’t necessarily want to grant them administrator access to your site, you can manage permissions for those users or roles with the User Role Editor plugin and enable the “fooeventspos_pos_app” capability.
User Roles with FooEvents POS Access
Navigate to the FooEvents POS plugin settings Users tab to see a list of user roles that have FooEvents POS access. Initially only the Administrator, Shop Manager and Cashier user roles will be listed.

You can click the view or edit icon next to each user role to view or modify the enabled POS capabilities for that user role. The Administrator user role has access to all capabilities and cannot be modified.

Add a New User Role
Click the Add new user role button to add a new user role that will automatically have FooEvents POS access. You can either create an empty user role or make a copy of an existing user role which will include all that role’s enabled POS capabilities.

Enable PIN and Auto-Lock
You can enable PIN lock to secure the POS using a unique PIN set in each user’s profile. If a user has the capability to switch users in the POS, they will have to enter the new user’s PIN when switching. With PIN lock enabled, you can optionally enter the auto-lock timeout in minutes to specify the duration of inactivity before the POS locks automatically. Entering 0 (zero) or leaving this input blank will disable auto-lock.

Manage POS Users
Click the Manage POS Users tab to view all users who have POS access as well as what their user role is. If PIN lock is enabled and you have the capability of changing other POS user’s PINs, you can set or update the POS PIN of each individual user by clicking the Set PIN or Update PIN buttons.

POS User Role and Capabilities
Click on a POS user’s Capabilities button to view the user role and capabilities that are enabled for that specific POS user. User role capabilities are checked by default and cannot be unchecked. If you need to remove certain capabilities for a POS user that are enabled by default for their current user role, you can add a new user role as a copy of the user’s current role and then uncheck the capabilities that should not be enabled for that user. You can then change their user role to the newly created role by selecting it from the dropdown. The capabilities will be updated according to the selected user role and you can then check or uncheck remaining capabilities as needed for that specific POS user.

Connecting to the POS with PIN Lock Enabled
With PIN lock enabled, a POS user will need to enter their PIN in order to unlock the POS after successfully connecting to the store.

The current POS user will need to click the Unlock button and enter their 4-digit PIN to unlock the POS.

Alternatively you can click the Switch User button to immediately switch to a different POS user.
Locking the POS
If you have PIN lock enabled, a POS user can lock the POS by opening the Settings screen in the POS and clicking the Lock POS button.

The POS will lock immediately and show the same lock screen as when connecting to the POS with PIN lock enabled. When the POS is locked, the app will pause any background data fetching and order alerts. When an amount of minutes is entered for the auto-lock timeout setting, the POS will lock automatically after the specified duration of inactivity.
Switch to a Different POS User
You can switch to a different POS user without having to disconnect and reconnect the POS using different login details. From the Settings screen or lock screen (if PIN lock is enabled) click the Switch User button to display the POS user selection screen.

Depending on the current POS user’s capabilities, various options are shown when selecting a different POS user. If the current POS user has the capability of switching users without having to enter their PIN, then they can simply click the Switch User button to switch to the selected POS user. Otherwise an Unlock button will show and they will need to enter that POS user’s PIN in order to switch, similar to connecting to the POS with PIN lock enabled.

Once the POS switches to the selected POS user, the entire interface will update automatically to show or hide screens or functionality based on the new POS user’s capabilities.
If the current POS user has the capability of changing other POS users’ PINs then they can click the Update POS PIN button to enter a new PIN for the selected POS user.
POS Users and Submitting Orders
The user ID of the current POS user gets associated with any submitted order and they become the “cashier” for that order. If an order was submitted by another POS user as incomplete and the current POS user continues the order, the current POS user will automatically become the new “cashier” associated with that order.